A Wichita Tradition: Handel's Messiah

Come celebrate a Wichita tradition of 72 years!

Nov. 26, 2017, at 2:00pm, at City Life Church(formerly First Baptist), located at 216 E. 2nd, Wichita KS 67212.  Admission is $10 at the door.  Tickets can be purchased in advance from a Wichita Choral Society member.  For information, please call Carol Parsons at 316-258-2518.  


Shawn Chastain  


Soprano-Carter Tholl

Alto-Kiara Colon

Tenor-Brian Stranghoner

Bass-Phillip Lopez


Visit our Facebook Page

Director: Shawn Chastain

Shawn is in his twelfth year as Executive Coordinator of Fine Arts for the Wichita Public Schools. Prior to this position, he spent 15 years in the choral classroom, serving 7 at Wichita’s Charles Curtis Middle School and 8 at Wichita Heights High School. As Director of Choral Music/Fine Arts Department Chair at Heights, Chastain oversaw a 250+ member vocal music department that received the Senseney Music/KAKE TV “High Note Award” for musical excellence. Chastain received his degrees from Wichita State University and is a frequent clinician and adjudicator throughout Kansas. In addition to his educational responsibilities, Shawn is the Adult & Youth Choir Director at Wichita's Calvary United Methodist Church, the choir director for ARISE as well as WSU's Kodaly Adult Choral Ensemble. This is Shawn’s 17th season as Director of the Wichita Choral Society and he is also past president of the Kansas Choral Director’s Association. In the Summer of 2005, Chastain was selected as one of 15 educators in the United States to participate in the Fulbright German-American Teacher Linkage Program. Shawn is also a member of Arts Partners, Education Edge and has been honored with the Outstanding Administrator Award by the Kansas Art Education Association and the Midwest Kodaly Music Educators of America.  

Shawn and his wife, Debbie, reside in East Wichita with their three children  Lindsey (18), Eric (16) and Elsie (12). 


Accompanist: Harriet Hickman


Board Members 2016-2017

  • Sarah Green, President
  • Gwen Johnson, Vice President
  • Dan Strunk, Treasurer
  • Emily Pischnotte, Secretary
  • Dorene Cochran
  • Russ Gollnick
  • Suzanne Koch
  • Donell Leopold
  • Carol Parsons
  • Bill Spalding
  • Elizabeth Stark
  • Olive Chase